City of Subiaco - Tim Winton Award
iconSubiaco WA – 17.8˚
Sunny. Warm.

Tim Winton Award for Young Writers

A7452-Facebook-1-(1).jpgThe City of Subiaco presents the twenty sixth annual Tim Winton Award for Young Writers. This creative writing award is open to Western Australian school students and encourages imagination, innovation and creativity. 
Entries for 2018 Tim Winton Award for Young Writers are now closed. 

A certificate of participation is available for download here

2018 Tim Winton Award Winners

Congratulations to all entrants in the 2018 award. We had a huge response with over 1200 entries this year. The winners for the 2018 Tim Winton Award for Young Writers are listed below by category.

The finalists' stories will be exhibited at Subiaco Library from 20 August to 16 September, and can be read online here. 

Lower Primary category: school years one and two 

1st place Shaun Toor The Fate of CX 211 Excelsior Primary School
2nd place Isabella ho Crack! Nedlands Primary School
3rd place Olivia Bell Calm and Strong Presbyterian Ladies College

Middle Primary category: school years three and four

1st place Samara Bailye Life is Life Wattle Grove Primary School
2nd place Ellen Wahl African Cooking Disaster International School of Western Australia
3rd place Jesse Rose Jacob The Adventures of Jeffrey Bob Francis Jordan Catholic School

Upper Primary category: school years five and six

1st place Jessican Bruining Despair St Paul's Primary School
2nd place Isabella Crean The Lost Word Helena College
3rd place Ruby Bell Shine Bright Etoile Presbyterian Ladies College
3rd place Jhani Margio The keeper of seasons Spirit of Play Community School

Lower Secondary category: school years seven, eight and nine

1st place Eva Mustapic A Pot full of Promises Applecross Senior High School 
2nd place Benjamin Ramsay The Last Man Hale School
3rd place Lauren Pudney Anyone's Story St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls 

Upper Secondary category: school years ten, eleven and twelve

1st place Kate Graham The Colour Red Willetton Senior High School 
2nd place Emma Horak The Old Lie St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls
3rd place Olivia Tan Junilee Bay Presbyterian Ladies College 

Overall Winners

Kate Graham The Colour Red  Willetton Senior High School
Eva Mustapic A Pot full of Promises Applecross Senior High School 

Highly Commended 

Congratulations to the following highly commended entrants. Highly commended recipients will receive a certificate of achivement in the post. 

Lower Primary

Sasmitha Gihansith Thebuwana (Harrisdale Primary School), Abigail Keren (Rosalie Primary School), Angelia Periyannen (Notre Dame Catholic Primary School), Nicholas Bruining (St Paul's Primary School), Emali Davies (Notre Dame Cloverdale), Emily Zhang (Nedlands Primary School), Timothy Kaempf (Nedlands Primary School), Alicia Duniam (Frederick Irwin Anglican School), Lucy Carmichael (Freshwater Bay Primary School)

Middle Primary 

Sue Ning Chee (Oberthur Primary School), Chloe O'Donoghue (Perth College), Mia Tallowin (South Perth Primary School), Scarlett Ford (Perth College), Ryan Galos (Tapping Primary School), Charlotte Graham (Blue Gum Montessori School), Millicent Howe (Parkfield Primary School), Clarissa Siew (Oberthur Primary School), Emma Miller (International School of WA), Eli Genovese (Aranmore Catholic Primary School), Aila Lewis (Frederick Irwin Anglican School), Hitomi Cording (Frederick Irwin Anglican School), Rubia Dorfman (St Mary's Anglican School), Sophie Peart (Mandurah Baptist College), Gabriella Beatson (Freshwater Bay Primary School), Caoimhe Steele (Bicton Primary School), Katya Flowers (Bicton Primary School)

Upper Primary

Bodhi Tenni-Lane (Glengarry Primary School), Lottie Dowling (St Matthew's School), Logan Mihovilovich (Carine Primary School), Eadie Barrett (Esperance Primary School), Karthik Ramachandran (Mt Pleasant Primary), Evie Gan (Baynton West Primary School), Sophie Anderson (Maida Vale Primary School), Anoushka Gupta (Victoria Park Primary School), Lily Pawleski (Yuna Primary School), Mia Beatty (Kyilla Primary School), Sophie Saekova (Nedlands Primary School), Kai Spencer (Duncraig Primary School), Nyan Stamcombe (St Stephens School Duncraig), Helen Smith (Mel Maria Catholic Primary School), Audrey Pettinicchio (Whitford Catholic Primary school), Debbie Phan (Victoria Park Primary School)

Lower Secondary 

Laura Clarke (Kinross College), Skylar Lloyd (St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls), Ellen Ivy (Grace Christian School)

Upper Secondary

Georgia Williams (John XXIII College), Chole Dunne (Lake Joondalup Baptist College), Erin Strle (Willetton Senior Hight School), Kieran Fisher (Seton Catholic College), Jordan Bowling (Scotch College)


The city would like to acknowledge the generous support of award patron Tim Winton and our valued sponsors Janet Holmes à Court AC, Kool KreativeNew Edition BookshopDymocks Subiaco, Subiaco Bookshop and The Lane Bookshop.

About Tim Winton

Tim-Winton-head-shot-(1).jpgTim was born in Western Australia, where he still resides, and is the author of over twenty-nine books, including novels, short stories, non-fiction and books for children. Tim decided he wanted to be a writer at the age of ten. Today a world-class author, he is a fine example and inspiration for all young writers.

Most of his novels have been adapted for stage and screen, and the movie version of his number one bestseller Breath, directed by Simon Baker, was recenetly released in 2018. Listed as a Living Treasure by the National Trust, Tim has long been active in the environmental and social justice spaces. 

Tim's latest novel, The Shepherd's Hut was released in March of this year.

Join the Tim Winton Award mailing list

* indicates required