City of Subiaco - Shaun Tan Award
iconSubiaco WA – 16.5˚
Showers Early. Partly Cloudy. Cool.

Shaun Tan Award for Young Artists

A7746-CoS-Shaun-Tan-Award-2019-A3-Poster-print.jpgThe City of Subiaco presents the seventeenth annual Shaun Tan Award for Young Artists. This visual art award is open to Western Australian school students and encourages imagination, innovation and creativity. 

Congratulations to all entrants in the 2019 Shaun Tan Award for Young Artists. We had a huge response with over 1300 entres this year. Thank you to all who participated. 

Congratulations to this year's exhibited young artists, see the list below to see if your artwork will be on display. The top ten artworks from each category form the 2019 Shaun Tan Exhibition which will be on display at Subiaco Library from Tuesday 9 July to Sunday 4 August. 

Finalists, which consist of the top three entrants in each category, will be contacted separately and invited to a presentation ceremony at Subiaco Library, winners will be announced soon after.

Artists will be contacted via email with more information on collecting their entries. A certificate of participation is available for every entrant when they collect their artworks or can be downloaded here. 

2019 Exhibited Artworks

Lower Primary category (school years one and two)

Catherine Ru Xin Zhou

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

Renee Yan Ni Zhen

Cute Kookaburras 

Samuel Zi Tao

123 Toucans

Kendylle Green

The last flower

Ellen Karakatsanakis

Self Portrait

Jett Herbert


Jade Coppolina

The Pot Monster

Enze Zhang

Little fish are getting eaten 

Amy Xinran Li

Self Portrait

Ella Boyne

Cat playing the piano


Middle Primary category (school years three and four)

Isabella Fan Jin

Jieremy my little brother

Sophie Dean

Fantastical Flamingo

Jayden Gosling


Bill Gao

The Farmer's Holiday

Samantha Yang

A Mythical Maze

Matilda Shen

Portrait of Maxim

Abby Hermann


Hannah Chen


Kobe Wu

Waiting for pancakes

Philana Kang



Upper Primary category (school years five and six)

Boyd Dunham

Tank of War

Francisco Segorbe


Luke Zeng

Tennyson Down

Justina Jia Tang

Self Portrait

Carys Williams


Brendan Chin

The Breach

Kai Keulder

The Serpent's Rest

Quincy Mo

Robot Factory Spaceship

Guillaume Daoud

Streaky Bacon

Candice Kang

Doggo Dive


Lower Secondary category (school years seven, eight and nine)

Cindy Pei Ying Wang


Macey McKeown


Finn Coggin

Night Lights

Olivia Grant


Hazel Dortch


Milla Leach


Hina Soria


Claire Musarra

Superb Fairy-Wren

Samara Ainge

Brick Bugs

Violet Seah



Upper Secondary category (school years ten, eleven and twelve)

Adine Sequiera


Sophie Regan


Tia Christophers

The Hound

Jessica McBow

Were You Paying Attention

Hannah Richardson

Vintage Beauty

Jo Quinn


Nikki Singh


Emelia Tansey

After Desolation

Janine Jia Ning Li


Cilla Daw



Collection of artworks

Artworks will be available for collection at Subiaco Library between Monday 8 July and Sunday 28 July. Any artworks not collected during this time will become the property of the City of Subiaco and due to storage restrictions may be destroyed. 

All regional entries will be returned to the entrant via post before Sunday 28 July providing they fit in a standard postage tube (90mm x 850mm). Regional entries which do not meet this criteria must be collected by the entrant before Sunday 28 July. 

Exhibited artists must collect their entries from Subiaco Library at the close of the exhibition. Artworks must be collected between Monday 5 August.

Prizes and exhibition

Prizes are donated from the City of Subiaco and award sponsors and are presented to the top three entries in each category. A selection of the best artworks entered will feature in a month long public exhibition at Subiaco Library from Tuesday 9 July until Sunday 5 August. All exhibited artists receive professional framing or mounting for their artworks. 

The city would like to acknowledge the generous support of award patron Shaun Tan and our valued sponsors Janet Holmes à Court AC, Kool Kreative, Prime Art Picture Framers, New Edition Bookshop, Subiaco Bookshop and Dymocks Subiaco.

Frequently asked questions

For more information on entry requirements and competition information, please see our frequently asked questions document (PDF 464KB).

About Shaun Tan

Shaun Tan is an acclaimed artist and writer who grew up in Perth. Subiaco Library has two impressive murals by Shaun Tan on display. The Tea Party features a riotous array of strange characters and landscapes and The 100 Year Picnic is based on a photograph from the 1920s found in the archives of the Subiaco Museum.


Shaun began drawing and painting images as a teenager, and has since become best known for illustrated books with surreal, dream-like imagery. Shaun's books have been translated into many languages and are enjoyed by readers of all ages. 

In 2011, Shaun won an Academy Award for his short film, The Lost Thing, and received the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award honouring his contribution to international children's literature. For more information about his work, visit Shaun Tan’s official website.

Join the Shaun Tan Award mailing list

* indicates required