City of Subiaco - Tim Winton Award
iconSubiaco WA – 25.8˚
Morning Clouds. Warm.

Tim Winton Award for Young Writers

2020-TWA-poster-final.jpgThe City of Subiaco presents the twenty eighth annual Tim Winton Award for Young Writers. This creative writing award is open to Western Australian school students and encourages imagination, innovation and creativity. 

Congratulations to all entrants in the 2020 award. We had another huge year with over 1350 entries. Well done to all our winners for 2020. The finalists' stories will be exhibited at Subiaco Library from 5 October to 1 November. 

Winners were celebrated in an awards presentation evening on Monday 12 October, details of the 2020 winners are listed below. Highly Commended entries are also listed below and will recieve certificates via mail. 

Tim Winton Award finalists 

Lower Primary category: school years one and two  

1st place

Noah Sun

My Terrifying Ride

Ardross Primary School

2nd place

Liesl Ho


Nedlands Primary School

3rd place

Louise Wellisch

The Haunted House

Bicton Primary School

Middle Primary category: school years three and four  

1st place

Isla Barker

Do Friendships Fade?

Presbyterian Ladies College

2nd place

Layla Travis

Invisible Me

John XXIII College

3rd place

Jasmine Conroy

The Wrong Doll

Ardross Primary School 

Upper Primary category: school years five and six  

1st place

Pascale Gallen

Jai Ling

Christmas Island DHS

2nd place

Oliver Groughan

Full Moon Rise

Newman College

3rd place

Lydia Pearce

Surviving the Ardennes

Hawker Park Primary School 

Lower Secondary category: school years seven, eight and nine  

1st place

Karoline Magpily

The Singularity

Mandurah Catholic College

2nd place

Mikayla Axford

An Unexpected Future

Carine Senior High School 

3rd place

Stephanie Potma


Applecross Senior High School

Upper Secondary category: school years ten, eleven and twelve  

1st place

Elva Verity

First rains

Denmark Senior High School

2nd place

Sarah Benny

Same Old Love

Carey Baptist College

3rd place

Frederick Johnston-Horstman

Content, Happy, Productive

Como Secondary College

Overall Winner


Karoline Magpily

The Singularity

Mandurah Catholic College

Subi Voice of Youth Award Winner


Karoline Magpily

The Singularity

Mandurah Catholic College

Highly Commended entries

Upper Primary  

Elise Kwei (John XXIII College), Kylie Woon (Penrhos College), Diya Sanjay (Mount Claremont Primary School), Pema Yangchen (Osborne Primary School), Alisha Gobalakrishnan (St Mary's Anglican Girls School), Isobel Barker (Presbyterian Ladies College), Reese Burnett (Saint Pius X), Siena Hamilton (St Mary's Anglican Girls' School), Yutong Li (Caladenia Primary School), Ruby Rowland (Mel Maria Catholic Primary), Isabelle Noonan (Mel Maria Catholic Primary), Claudia Innes (Primary Extension & Challenge c/o Yuluma Primary School), Matthew Katz (St Andrew's Grammar), Amelie Lane Glover (Fremantle Christian College), Ava Colquhoun (Carey Baptist College), Akira Lee (Lance Holt Primary School), Georgette Watson (John XXIII College), Annie Zhang (Winthrop Primary School), Elsa Durant (Cable Beach PS), Mahi Sing Goraya (St Paul's Primary School), Victoria Siew (Winthrop Primary School), Jake Swadkins (Albany Primary School), Milou Buis (Albany Primary School), Rebekah Gauntlett (Rostrata Primary School), Ross King (Swan Valley Anglican Community School), Isabelle Lim (Churchlands Primary School), Kate Halls (Swan Valley Anglican Community School), Julia Kang (Wembley Primary School), Sara Dettinger-Sands (Guildford Primary School), Ramona-Pearl Faamausili-Fala (John Septimus Roe), Ruby Hankinson (Newman College), Naomi Cheung (Caladenia Primary School), Aidan Iannantuoni (Newman College)

Lower Secondary

Angus Kikeros (Churchlands Seniors High School), Anna Ford (Carine Senior High School)

Upper Secondary

Olivia Francis (Christmas Island District High School), Caitlin Nguyen (Mercy College), Josh Wilkinson (Rehoboth Christian College), Mia Fraser (Shenton College), Angela Shaw (Perth College), Jenn Hurley-Green (Mazenod College Perth), Georgina Japor (Chisholm Catholic College), Sam Wolf
(Scotch College), Taye Barlow (Scotch College).

About Tim Winton

Tim-Winton-head-shot-(1).jpgTim was born in Western Australia, where he still resides, and is the author of over twenty-nine books, including novels, short stories, non-fiction and books for children. Tim decided he wanted to be a writer at the age of ten. Today a world-class author, he is a fine example and inspiration for all young writers.

Most of his novels have been adapted for stage and screen, and the movie version of his number one bestseller Breath, directed by Simon Baker, was recently released in 2018. Listed as a Living Treasure by the National Trust, Tim has long been active in the environmental and social justice spaces. 

Tim's latest novel, The Shepherd's Hut was released in March of last year.

Join the Tim Winton Award mailing list

* indicates required