City of Subiaco - Local government election results
iconSubiaco WA – 21.9˚
Sunny. Mild. Breezy.


Local government election results
Saturday 19 October 2019

The City of Subiaco local government elections took place this evening, with all six positions contested.

Five new councillors and one returning elected member will join the Council alongside sitting members and Mayor Penny Taylor.

The announcement was made at 9.30pm by WAEC Returning Officer Gavin Cotterell.

In the North Ward, returning elected member Stephanie Stroud was the clear winner with Rosemarie De Vries coming in second.

Business owner Blake Phelan took an early lead to become councillor of East Ward, while Rick Powell from Shenton Park was announced as South Ward councillor.

Lynette Jennings and Angela Hamersley were elected as the Central Ward councillors.

The new elected members will be sworn in at a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 22 October, where the new deputy mayor will also be elected.

Mayor Taylor welcomed all newly elected councillors and returning members.

“Serving on the City of Subiaco Council is an honour and I thank all the candidates who contested the election,” she said. “To those joining the Council – congratulations! I’m looking forward to working as a strong team and continuing to deliver for Subiaco.”

The City of Subiaco farewells and thanks outgoing Deputy Mayor Judith Gedero and councillors Malcolm Mummery, Julie Matheson, Peter McAllister, and Hugh Richardson for their dedication and service.
For detailed election results, visit the Western Australian Electoral Commission’s website.