City of Subiaco - About elections
iconSubiaco WA – 18.1˚
Mostly Sunny. Mild. Breezy.

About elections

Local government elections are held every two years, usually on the third Saturday in October. The next Ordinary Election will be held 16 October 2021.

City of Subiaco Council 

The City of Subiaco Council comprises twelve elected members. The Mayor represents the entire district and there are three councillors for each of the North, East and Central wards, and two councillors for the South ward. The Mayor and councillors are elected to their positions for a four year term. Councillors retire from office on a rotational basis, with half retiring every two years.

Due to a ward and representation review, from October 2021, the Council will reduce its number of councillors to eight and adjust the ward boundaries. The review was required to address an imbalance in representation ratios following the implementation of the City of Perth Act 2016.

Voting method and count

City of Subiaco elections are conducted as postal elections by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The commission appoints a Returning Officer who oversees the elections. This includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night.

Election packages are posted to all electors on the City of Subiaco electoral rolls approximately three weeks before election day. The packages can be returned by mail or hand delivered and placed in a sealed ballot box at the City's Administration Centre until 6pm on election day.

Replacement ballot papers are available for registered voters at the City’s Administration Centre if required. 

The count commences at 6pm on election day and results are usually available later that evening on the Western Australian Electoral Commission's website.