iconSubiaco WA – 14.8˚
Showers Early. Mostly Sunny. Cool.

Tim Winton Award for Young Writers

The City of Subiaco is proud to present the Tim Winton Award for Young Writers. The award encourages creativity and imagination, and is a great opportunity for you to develop your writing skills.

Thank you to the 1800 young writers who submitted stories in the 2015 Tim Winton Award for Young Writers.

Judging of the award is now complete. All finalists' stories will be exhibited in Subiaco Library from 7 to 21 September and available to be read online. 

Certificate of participation is now available to download. (PDF 2.6MB)

2015 award finalists and highly commended

Congratulations to our sixteen award finalists. The 2015 Tim Winton Award will be presented to the most outstanding entry and prizes from the City of Subiaco and award sponsors will be presented to the top three entries in each category by Tim Winton at a presentation ceremony at Subiaco Library in September.

Finalists who live outside the Perth metropolitan area will receive travel assistance to attend. Finalists will be contacted individually, or through their teacher by email.

Lower primary finalists
Ruby Bell, Andrea Raj, Ryan Toor

Middle primary finalists
Isabella Crean, Laela Evans, Evie Hewitt, Mia Lowe

Upper primary finalists
Lola Hill, Jethro Mack, Tristan Nel

Lower secondary finalists
Danah Blache, Emma Horak, Katherine Magpily

Upper secondary finalists
Sacha Pulsford, Peri Watson, Isabel Waideman

Highly commended

Congratulations to all highly commended entrants. Certificates will be posted to recipients in late September. 

Lower primary highly commended
Harmani Adje, Amalia Campbell, Thomas Dobson, Sophia Healdgrove, Joshua Kanny, Simon Pocock Mahalia Upton, Hannah Warren, Kaitlyn Annika Sin, Benji Somoff

Middle primary highly commended
Khy Sammuel Atkins, Thomas Blayney, Ava Bostelman, Nicholas Bowden-Jones, Jessica May Bruining, Molly Cummins, Eladia Hamilton Dealziell, Zara Denovan , Henry Feutrill, Sarah Harris, Aaliyah Kadir, Jakob Felix Kanny, Ruby Kaye, Samuel Laing, Hector Mangharam, Maggie Mee, Zoe Parker, Teah Rickarby, Scarlett Robson, Isaac Savliwala, Lucinda Singh, Felicity Smith, Ciara Smithies, Sean Talbot, William Terry, Cassandra Tonkin, Alice Wylie

Upper primary highly commended
Madelene Baldwin, Carys Cherrie Brown, Poppy Bell, Sarsha Hayes, Harriet Keenan, Willow McAuliffe, Lucy Murdoch, Yoshna Naidoo, Ella Grace Tay Power, Ritvij Roy, Olivia Cate Sartori, Audrey Tan, Abbey Louise Winship

Lower secondary highly commended
Chloe Kathleen Ayling, Taj Bouwhuis, Jay Huan Jie Choo, Sasha Currie, Chloe Evelyn Fairhead, Yu-Ling Tao, Bryony Whitewell

Upper secondary highly commended
Bryony Glass, Cameron Annot Hurst, Shi Qi Kimberley Ng, Ellie Pead

Judging and prizes

Entries are judged individually in the following categories:

Category A, Lower primary – school years one and two
Category B, Middle primary – school years three and four
Category C, Upper primary – school years five and six
Category D, Lower secondary – school years seven, eight and nine
Category E, Upper secondary – school years ten, eleven and twelve

Entries are judged on the originality of the themes, the development of the story and the quality (not quantity) of the writing. The judges are looking for entries which use words to create imagery. Please note: due to the high number of entries received for this award each year, entries will not be returned and photocopies of originals are encouraged, individual feedback cannot be provided.

The city would like to acknowledge the generous support of award patron Tim Winton and valued sponsors Janet Holmes à Court AC, Kool KreativeOne20 ProductionsDymocksThe Lane Bookshop and New Edition Bookshop.

Public use of entries
Entries may be used in City of Subiaco publications and for future promotion of the award. Entries may also be displayed at Subiaco Library and other venues around the city. The title of the entry and author’s name will always be acknowledged with the entry when it is used.

Entries are not retained and cannot be returned. The city accepts and encourages photocopies of the original work.


The quality ofentries in the award has been recognised by the publication of three compilation books:

  • Destination Unknown (Fremantle Press, 2001)
  • Life Bytes (Fremantle Press, 2002)
  • Hatched (Fremantle Press, 2013).


nullNew book Hatched: Celebrating twenty years of the Tim Winton Award for Young Writers features the overall winning story from each year of the award from 1993 to 2012.

It features cover art by Shaun Tan and showcases the talent and range of young Western Australian Writers.

Junior Bookseller + Publisher said: ‘The calibre and diversity of the writing is mind-blowing – many of the stories are so accomplished I often forget they were penned by children.’

Award patron Tim Winton said: ‘It’s a great pleasure to see young people exercising their storytelling instincts. During the twenty years in which the award has been given in my name I’ve had the privilege of witnessing this stubborn, lovely impulse as it lives on in a new generation. Whether they’re writing feverish fantasy or gritty realism these young writers are coming to terms with their language and their lives, using stories to shape or unpack what they know and what they fear and what they hope for.’

Hatched can be purchased from leading booksellers and Fremantle Press.

About Tim Winton

nullTim was born in Western Australia, where he still resides, and is the author of over twenty-five books, including novels, short stories, non-fiction and books for children. Tim decided he wanted to be a writer at the age of ten. Today a world-class author, he is a fine example and inspiration for all young writers.

Four times winner of the Miles Franklin Award and twice shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Tim’s work continues to be critically admired and loved by readers around the world. Many of his best-loved stories, including Cloudstreet, The Riders, Dirt Music and Lockie Leonard, have been adapted for film, television, radio and theatre. Tim Winton's most recent work includes novel Eyrie, and Hatched: Celebrating twenty years of the Tim Winton Award for Young Writers, which features cover art by Shaun Tan and showcases the talent of the overall winning stories from 1993 to 2012.

Tim has a passion for theatre and debuted as a playwright in 2011. In 2013 the Black Swan State Theatre Company performed his third play, Shrine.